

2015 CUTR Transportation Achievement Award Honors Bill Johnson, Florida Secretary of Commerce President & CEO, Enterprise Florida, Inc.

TAMPA, FLA (June 11, 2015) – The Center for Urban Transportation Research (CUTR) at the University of South Florida (USF) is pleased to announce that its 2015 Transportation Achievement Award will recognize Bill Johnson, Florida Secretary of Commerce, President & CEO, Enterprise Florida, Inc. at CUTR's annual Transportation Achievement Awards event on November 2, 2015 at the USF Marshall Student Center, Tampa Main Campus.

Bill Johnson became President and CEO of Enterprise Florida, Inc. on March 2, 2015 following a 35-year career with Miami-Dade County government. Governor Scott appointed Bill to lead the agency that is the state's principal economic development organization serving as a public-private partnership between Florida's business and government leaders. The position also serves as Florida's Secretary of Commerce.

During his tenure with Miami-Dade County, Bill served in a number of executive positions including eight years as Director of PortMiami; and, as an Assistant County Manager, he had oversight of Miami International Airport. Bill also served as Director of the Miami-Dade Water & Sewer Department and has had management responsibility for a number of the County's large infrastructure projects including construction of the American Airlines Arena and the Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts.

A native of Akron, Ohio, Bill holds a Master's Degree in Public Administration from the University of Tennessee and has served in a number of leadership roles in business, maritime and economic development organizations at the national and international levels.

The CUTR Transportation Achievement Award is presented annually to an individual who has made significant contributions to transportation. Previous award recipients include:

- Jim Sebesta, Florida Transportation Commissioner and former State Senator (2014)
- A. Wayne Rich, former Chairman, Orlando-Orange County Expressway Authority (2013)
- Jose Abreu, former Secretary of the Florida Department of Transportation and Director, Miami International Airport Director (2012)
- Florida Senator Malcolm Beard (2011)
- Ben Watts, former Secretary of the Florida Department of Transportation (2010)
- Florida Senator James T. Hargrett, Jr. (2009)
- Bob Burleson, President of Florida Transportation Builders' Association (2008)
- James Ely, former Executive Director of Florida's Turnpike Enterprise (2007)
- K. Earl Durden, Chairman, CEO, and Director of Rail Management Corporation (2006)
- U.S. Representative John Mica (2005)

- David Brown, former chair of the Florida Transportation Commission (2004)
- Don Crane, former President of Floridians for Better Transportation (2003)

About CUTR

Established in the USF College of Engineering in 1988 by the Florida Legislature and the Florida Board of Regents, CUTR is an internationally-recognized resource for policymakers, transportation professionals, the education system, and the public. CUTR provides high-quality, objective transportation expertise in the form of technical support, policy analysis, and research support that translates directly into benefits for its project sponsors. CUTR's multidisciplinary research staff includes experts in planning, engineering, public policy, finance, economics, and geography who develop comprehensive solutions for all modes of transportation while combining academic and real-world experience.

CUTR conducts over \$14 million in research annually for a variety of public and private sector sponsors in Florida and the U.S. Areas of research include public transportation, transportation planning, mobility policy, intelligent transportation systems (ITS), transportation safety, transportation demand management (TDM), transportation economics and finance, and corridor management, among others.