USF Sarasota-Manatee’s College of Education forms Advisory Board of Education Leaders in Manatee and Sarasota Counties

The Advisory Board for the College of Education at the University of South Florida Sarasota-Manatee (USFSM) met in May to discuss upcoming goals and plans for the program.

USFSM’s College of Education is home to undergraduate and graduate programs preparing those who enter the field of education as teachers and administrators as well as professionals who can assume roles in business, industry, and the non-profit sector related to education.

Members of the newly formed Advisory Council include:

Terence Devine

Manatee School for the Arts

Assistant Principal

Lynette Edwards

School Board of Manatee County

Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction

Pamela Houfek

Sarasota County School System

Director of Professional Development Teacher Appraisal

Wendy Katz

Sarasota County School System

Administrator Instructional Support Services

David Mahler

Out of Door Academy

Head of School

Cynthia Newell

C4 Promise Project

Project Manager/Facilitator

Dr. Jane Rose

USF Sarasota-Manatee

Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Judy Sedgeman

USF Sarasota-Manatee

Director, Institute for Public Policy and Leadership

Alicia Stritz

Imagine Charter Schools

Primary Math Teacher

Mike Wilder

Manatee County School System

Coordinator of School Leadership Development

Yvette Robison

North Sarasota Library


Dr. Rebecca Burns

USF Sarasota-Manatee

Assistant Professor, College of Education

Dr. Patricia Hunsader

USF Sarasota-Manatee

Assistant Professor, College of Education

Whitney Patton

USF Sarasota-Manatee


Cydelle Quinn

Sarasota County School System

Program Specialist for Professional Development Department