Three faculty members awarded for excellence at USF Sarasota-Manatee

Three faculty members at the University of South Florida Sarasota-Manatee (USFSM) have recently been awarded for excellence. Nominations were solicited from a variety of people for each award, including students, deans and faculty members.

Eleven nominations were submitted for the Excellence in Teaching Award and Dr. Anurag Agarwal, Associate Professor of Information Systems/Decision Sciences in the College of Business, was selected from those nominees by the Faculty Senate’s Awards & Rewards Committee for his diligence, creativity, and his ability to successfully teach some of the more difficult courses offered at USFSM.  Dr. Agarwal was also recognized for his assistance to other faculty members looking to strengthen their own teaching.

The Excellence in Research Award nominees were selected by USFSM faculty members and deans.  Five faculty members were nominated and Dr. Jim Unnever, Professor of Criminology in the College of Arts & Sciences, was selected based on his extensive body of research, the fact that his research has been cited by other researchers over 1300 times, his publications in the top journals in his field, and his ongoing research work.

The Excellence in Service Award encompassed service to the university, service to the academic discipline, and service to the community. Nominations were solicited from all of the members of the USFSM community for this award. There were eight nominees for this one and Dr. Elizabeth Larkin, Professor of Childhood Education in the College of Education, was selected by the committee for her extensive contributions to USF as a faculty governance leader, her consistent service as a journal editor and reviewer over the years, and for her work with children in the local community through Schools and the Big Brothers-Big Sisters organization.

The awarded faculty members were announced at a Faculty & Staff Recognition event held on campus.